Basketball Intelligence For 9/29/21

Today's Best NBA Reporting And Analysis

- ATL: Capela's Continued Quest For Defensive Dominance Is A Key For Hawks (from Chris Kirschner, The Athletic): https://theathletic.com/2855091/2021/09/29/clint-capela-and-his-continued-quest-for-defensive-dominance-is-key-for-hawks-i-have-another-season-to-prove-it/

- ATL: Retro Scouting Report: Trae Young (from Adam Spinella, The Box And One): 

The Box and One
Retro Scouting Report: Trae Young
When we started this series on retro scouting reports, the goal was to look back at some of our mistakes and find ways to avoid making them in the future. Sometimes it’s just as important to look at …
Read more

- ATL: John Collins Has Renewed Focus With Hawks (from Sarah Spencer, AJC):  https://www.ajc.com/sports/atlanta-hawks/in-atlanta-for-the-long-haul-john-collins-has-renewed-focus-with-hawks/XGZ23GYOMND5XH6GZFTCOL5H3U/

- BOS: Celtics Finding Their Roles (from Bill Sy, Celtics Blog):  https://www.celticsblog.com/2021/9/28/22698759/post-practice-report-boston-celtics-roles-al-horford-ime-udoka-aaron-nesmith-marcus-smart

- BOS: Interview: Marcus Smart (from Jay King, The Athletic):  https://theathletic.com/2855670/2021/09/29/marcus-smart-1-on-1-celtics-star-opens-up-on-new-point-guard-role-almost-declining-contract-extension-and-more/?source=emp_shared_article

- BOS: Smart Embraces Distributor Role (from Mark Murphy, Boston Herald):  https://www.bostonherald.com/2021/09/29/0928-bh-s-celtics-2/

- BOS: Horford Will Be A Game Changer For Celtics (from Chris Grenham, Forbes):  https://www.forbes.com/sites/chrisgrenham/2021/09/29/al-horford-will-be-a-game-changer-for-the-boston-celtics/?sh=7bef8af320f7

- BOS: Juan Hernangomez Is Eager To Prove Himself (from Brian Robb, Mass Live):  https://www.masslive.com/celtics/2021/09/celtics-trade-addition-juancho-hernangomez-is-eager-to-prove-himself-in-boston-its-the-best-thing-i-could-ask-for.html

- CHA: Rozier Leads The Hornets (from Roderick Boone, Charlotte Observer):  https://www.charlotteobserver.com/sports/charlotte-hornets/article254582402.html

- CHI: Lonzo Keeps Getting Better (from Ben Ladner, The Step Back):  https://fansided.com/2021/09/28/25-under-25-2021-lonzo-ball-chicago-bulls-16/

- CLE: Q & A: Larry Nance, Jr (from Alex Kennedy, Basketball News):  https://www.basketballnews.com/stories/larry-nance-jr-qa-i-did-not-come-out-here-to-halfass-this-thing

- CLE: Is Jarrett Allen Essential? (from Micah Wimmer, The Step Back):  https://fansided.com/2021/09/28/25-under-25-2021-jarrett-allen-cleveland-cavaliers-17/

- DEN: What Happens When Murray Returns? (from Bryan Harvey, The Step Back):  https://fansided.com/2021/09/29/25-under-25-2021-jamal-murray-denver-nuggets-15

- DEN: MPJ Is A Walking Bucket (from Bryan Toporek, The Step Back):  https://fansided.com/2021/09/29/25-under-25-2021-michael-porter-jr-denver-nuggets-14

- DET: Pistons Prioritize Teaching In Coaching Staff Turnover (from Lauren Williams, MLive):  https://www.mlive.com/pistons/2021/09/detroit-pistons-prioritize-teaching-in-coaching-staff-turnover.html

- HOU: Nwaba Returns With Something To Prove (from Jonathan Feigen, Houston Chronicle):  https://www.houstonchronicle.com/texas-sports-nation/rockets/article/Uncle-Dave-Nwaba-returns-to-Rockets-with-16492217.php

- LAC: Clippers Believe Bledsoe Will Fit Right Back In (from Mirjam Swanson, OC Register):  https://www.ocregister.com/2021/09/28/clippers-believe-eric-bledsoe-will-fit-right-back-in/

- MIA: Takeaways From Training Camp, Day One (from Barry Jackson, Miami Herald):  https://www.miamiherald.com/sports/spt-columns-blogs/barry-jackson/article251937673.html

- MIA: What's Next For Bam? (from Anthony Chiang, Miami Herald):  https://www.kentucky.com/sports/college/kentucky-sports/ex-cats/article254565227.html

- MIN: How The Wolves Use Wedge Actions To Create Clean Looks (from Jake Paynting, Howls And Growls): 

Howls and Growls
Straight Sets, Vol. 10: Wedge Wolves
If you’re still here, 10 weeks into a Howls and Growls Straight Sets experience that has stretched through the deepest and darkest depths of the offseason, you must have the same toxic relationship with the Minnesota Timberwolves as I do. Thankfully (or unfortunately depending on how optimistic you are for the season), we will get…
Read more

- NOP: Ingram Will Try To Find Stability Under HC Willie Green (from Christian Clark, The Advocate):  https://www.nola.com/sports/pelicans/article_b49c6d04-2098-11ec-bf31-fbb05ba6d2ee.html

- NOP: Q & A: Jeff Stotts On Zion's Injury (from William Guillory, The Athletic): https://theathletic.com/2855865/2021/09/29/is-zion-williamsons-foot-surgery-a-long-term-cause-for-concern-we-asked-a-sports-injury-expert/

- ORL: Magic Ring In New Era With Focus On Fundamentals (from Philip Rossman-Reich, Orlando Magic Daily):  https://orlandomagicdaily.com/2021/09/29/orlando-magic-begin-training-camp-fundamentals/

- ORL: Interesting 2-Man Lineup Possibilities (from Josh Cohen, magic.com):  https://www.nba.com/magic/news/5-interesting-2-man-lineup-combination-possibilities-magic-2021-22-season-20210928

- PHI: Simmons' Motivation For Wanting Out (from Kevin O'Connor, The Ringer):  https://www.theringer.com/nba/2021/9/28/22698824/ben-simmons-trade-philadelphia-76ers

- PHI: Without Simmons, Sixers Relying On Multiple Ball Handlers (from Ky Carlin, USA Today):  https://sixerswire.usatoday.com/2021/09/28/sixers-relying-on-multiple-players-to-handle-the-ball-without-ben-simmons/

From Noah Levick, NBC Sports : https://www.nbcsports.com/philadelphia/sixers/sixers-training-camp-2021-ben-simmons-tyrese-maxey-doc-rivers

- PHI: Maxey Runs With The Starters At 1st Day Of Practice (from Kyle Neubeck, Philly Voice):  https://www.phillyvoice.com/sixers-training-camp-practice-tyrese-maxey-starter-tobias-harris-doc-rivers/

- PHI: Rivers Thinks Niang Can Be Sleeper Signing (from Kevin McCormick, Clutch Points):  https://clutchpoints.com/doc-rivers-thinks-georges-niang-can-be-sleeper-signing-for-sixers/

- PHO: Suns Open Camp With Ahead Start Boosted By Continuity (from Kellan Olson, Arizona Sports):  https://arizonasports.com/story/2832653/suns-begin-training-camp-with-a-head-start-boosted-by-continuity

- SAC: Kings Intrigued By Three-Guard Lineup (from Jason Anderson, Sacramento Bee):  https://www.sacbee.com/sports/nba/sacramento-kings/article254606172.html

- SAS: Young Spurs Already Show Strong Chemistry (from Tom Orsborn, Express News):  https://www.expressnews.com/sports/spurs/article/Spurs-begin-work-molding-fast-paced-team-16494254.php

- SAS: Media Day: Gregg Popovich Speaks:  

- SAS: Where Pop & The Spurs Go From Here (from Zach Lowe, ESPN):  https://www.espn.com/nba/insider/story/_/id/32299872/lowe-where-gregg-popovich-san-antonio-spurs-go-here

- SAS: Keldon Johnson's Golden Moment Could Pay Off For Spurs (from Jeff McDonald, Express News):  https://www.expressnews.com/sports/spurs/article/Keldon-Johnson-s-golden-moment-could-pay-off-16494181.php

- TOR: Scottie Barnes Impresses With 1st Day Of Work (from Ryan Wolstat, Toronto Sun):  https://torontosun.com/sports/basketball/nba/toronto-raptors/wolstat-scottie-barnes-impresses-raptors-with-first-day-of-work

From Doug Smith, Toronto Star: https://www.thestar.com/sports/raptors/2021/09/28/for-raptors-rookie-scottie-barnes-nba-success-is-right-at-his-fingertips.html

- TOR: How Anunoby Can Take The Next Offensive Step (from Ian Levy, The Step Back):  https://fansided.com/2021/09/29/25-under-25-2021-og-anunoby-toronto-raptors-11/

- WAS: 1st Things 1st: Fix The Defense (from Ava Wallace, Washington Post):  https://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/2021/09/28/wes-unseld-wizards-defense-first-practice/


- SE Division Season Preview (from Nekias Duncan, Basketball News):  https://www.basketballnews.com/stories/202122-nba-season-preview-southeast-division

- What Each Lottery Pick Needs To Show At Training Camp (from Jonathan Wasserman, Bleacher Report):  https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2948621-what-every-2022-nba-lottery-pick-needs-to-show-at-training-camp

- Each Team's Top 2021-22 Breakout Candidate (from Greg Swartz, Bleacher Report):  https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2948723-every-nba-teams-top-breakout-candidate-in-2021-22

- Under-The-Radar Players Who Could Make A Leap (from Morten Jensen, Forbes):  https://www.forbes.com/sites/mortenjensen/2021/09/28/a-look-at-6-under-the-radar-nba-players-who-could-make-a-leap/?sh=5919366112e3

- The NBA Is Finalizing COVID Health & Safety Protocols With The NBPA (from Tim Bontemps, ESPN):  https://www.espn.com/nba/story/_/id/32301923/in-memo-teams-nba-crafts-protocols-requiring-unvaccinated-players-many-same-restrictions-rest-league

- 2022 Draft: Top Returning Prospects (from Brandon Simberg, Busting Brackets ):  https://bustingbrackets.com/2021/09/29/ncaa-basketball-top-returning-players-watch-2022-nba-draft

- Teenage Basketball Stars Are Making Big Money Before Making It To The NBA (from Christian Red, NBC News):  https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/nba/teenage-basketball-stars-are-making-big-money-before-they-even-get-to-the-nba


FOUR YEARS AGO TODAY: from the BI archives:

http://basketballintelligence.net/2017/09/29/todays-best-nba-reporting-analysis-92917/


We are pleased to recommend a new Substack publication from the great Adam Spinella:

Our goal at The Box and One is to engage in quality over quantity, to provide the content that fans thirsty for knowledge of the game can appreciate. We feature exclusive content with projects such as video scouting reports, deep dive film session narrations, X’s and O’s playbooks from pro and college teams, NBA or draft analysis articles and more.