Basketball Intelligence For 10/12/21, Part One

Today's Best NBA Reporting And Analysis, Part One

- BOS: What Does Marcus Smart At PG Look Like? (from Ethan Fuller, Basketball News):  https://www.basketballnews.com/stories/all-signs-pointing-to-marcus-smart-as-the-celtics-swing-player

- BOS: Celtics Still Have A Lot To Figure Out (from Gary Washburn, Boston Globe):  https://www.bostonglobe.com/2021/10/11/sports/celtics-critical-juncture-with-season-right-around-corner-still-much-work-figure-out/?camp=bg:brief:rss:MSN&rss_id=MSN_rss_brief

- CHI: Alize Johnson: Looking To  Pattern His Game After Rodman (from Mike McGraw, Daily Herald):  https://www.dailyherald.com/sports/20211011/bulls-forward-johnson-looking-to-pattern-game-after-rodman

- CLE Is Rubio The League's Best Backup PG? (from Josh Cornelissen, King James Gospel):  https://kingjamesgospel.com/2021/10/12/cavs-ricky-rubio-leagues-best-backup-point-guard/

- DAL: Q & A: Frank Ntilikina (from Marc Stein, The Stein Line):  

Marc Stein
One-on-one to 7 with Frank Ntilikina
Frank Ntilikina turned 23 in July. He's about to begin his fifth NBA season but still has the capacity to tantalize, despite his various ups and downs in New York, as a 6-foot-4 guard with a 7-foot…
Read more

- DEN: Nuggets' Offseason Review (from Luke Adams, Hoops Rumors):  https://www.hoopsrumors.com/2021/10/2021-nba-offseason-in-review-denver-nuggets.html

- DET: Takeaways From Loss To Grizzlies (from Keith Langlois, pistons.com):  https://www.nba.com/pistons/features/sluggish-start-sends-pistons-tailspin-they-fall-memphis

- DET: How Pickett Went From Caterpillar To Butterfly To Pistons (from Omari Sankofa II, Free Press):  https://www.freep.com/story/sports/nba/pistons/2021/10/11/detroit-pistons-jamorko-pickett-georgetown-emmanuel-kakulu/6071057001/

- GSW: Can The Dubs Develop Kuminga While Playing For A Title? (from Jonathan Tjarks, The Ringer):  https://www.theringer.com/nba/2021/10/12/22715128/golden-state-warriors-jonathan-kuminga-james-wiseman

- GSW: Kerr Tell Draymond: 'If You're Open, Let It Fly' (from Rusty Simmons, SF Chronicle):   https://www.sfchronicle.com/sports/warriors/article/Warriors-head-coach-Steve-Kerr-tells-Draymond-16525696.php

- HOU: Rockets Season Preview (from John Hollinger, The Athletic):  https://theathletic.com/2879985/2021/10/12/hollingers-2021-22-houston-rockets-preview-lineup-roster-prediction-is-this-the-core-to-build-around/

- LAC: Winslow Getting Acclimated To Wide-Ranging Role (from Mirjam Swanson, OC Register):  https://www.dailynews.com/2021/10/11/clippres-justise-winslow-getting-acclimated-to-wide-ranging-role/

- LAL: Lakers A Target For Scrutiny After Superstar Moves (from Kyle Goon, OC Register):  https://www.dailynews.com/2021/10/11/lakers-are-a-target-for-scrutiny-after-superstar-moves-this-summer/

- MIA: Takeaways From Win Over Hornets (from Ira Winderman, SunSentinel):  https://www.sun-sentinel.com/sports/miami-heat/fl-sp-miami-heat-charlotte-hornets-20211012-3svdk4kkobhf5k2ydfap53eix4-story.html

From Anthony Chiang, Miami Herald:  https://www.miamiherald.com/sports/nba/miami-heat/article254906942.html

From Jack Simone, All U Can Heat:  https://allucanheat.com/2021/10/12/miami-heat-takeaways-hornets-preseason/

- MIL: Nwora's Case For Consistent Rotational Minutes (from Jake Weinbach, Hoops Habit):  https://hoopshabit.com/2021/10/11/milwaukee-bucks-jordan-nwora/

- MIN: Takeaways From Win Over Clippers (from Jace Frederick, Pioneer Press):  https://news.yahoo.com/takeaways-timberwolves-preseason-thumping-clippers-084100529.html

- NOP: Pelicans Season Preview (from John Hollinger, The Athletic):  https://theathletic.com/2879946/2021/10/12/hollingers-2021-22-new-orleans-pelicans-preview-lineup-roster-prediction-can-zion-and-company-fix-the-defense/

- NYK: The Knicks' New Offense (from Kento Kato, Posting And Toasting):  https://www.postingandtoasting.com/2021/10/11/22715132/taking-a-closer-look-at-the-new-knicks-offense

- NYK: Season Preview: Mitchell Robinson (from Tyrese London, The Strick.land):  https://www.thestrick.land/strick/2021-22-knicks-season-preview-mitchell-robinson

- OKC: Presti Urges Team-Building Patience (from Cliff Brunt, AP):  https://www.theolympian.com/sports/article254941862.html

- OKC: Thunder Season Preview (from John Hollinger, The Athletic):  https://theathletic.com/2879935/2021/10/12/hollingers-2021-22-oklahoma-city-thunder-preview-lineup-roster-prediction-how-long-will-this-build-take/

- PHI:  Takeaways From Win Over Nets (from Kyle Neubeck, Philly Voice):  https://www.phillyvoice.com/instant-observations-sixers-nets-joel-embiid-doc-rivers-kevin-durant/

From Rich Hofmann, The Athletic: https://theathletic.com/2883933/2021/10/12/short-handed-sixers-beat-nets-react-to-ben-simmons-surprise-return

- PHI: Sixers Praise Isaiah Joe For Performance Vs Nets (from Ky Carlin, USA Today):  https://sixerswire.usatoday.com/2021/10/11/multiple-sixers-praise-isaiah-joe-for-performance-after-win-over-nets/

    Ben:

     From Adrian Wojnarowski, ESPN:  https://www.espn.com.au/nba/story/_/id/32380934/philadelphia-76ers-making-progress-talks-ben-simmons-return-sources-say

     From Kyle Neubeck, Philly Voice: https://www.phillyvoice.com/ben-simmons-return-sixers-players-joel-embiid-locker-room-trade-rumors-doc-rivers

     From Keith Pompey, The Inquirer:  https://www.inquirer.com/sixers/ben-simmons-return-philadelphia-sixers-covid-20211011.html

     From Sam Amick, The Athletic:  https://theathletic.com/2882744/2021/10/11/amick-ben-simmons-heel-turn-or-high-road-on-his-looming-return-to-philly-and-why-his-next-move-matters/

- POR: Takeaways From Loss To Kings (from Jack Winter, Clutch Points):  https://clutchpoints.com/3-observations-from-short-handed-blazers-preseason-loss-to-kings/

From Dave Deckard, Blazer's Edge:  https://www.blazersedge.com/2021/10/11/22721892/portland-trail-blazers-sacramento-kings-preseason-2021-game-2-final-score-boxscore

- SAC: Takeaways From Win Over Blazers (from Marina Drab, Sactown Royalty):  https://www.sactownroyalty.com/2021/10/11/22721848/kings-vs-blazers-final-score-game-recap-davion-mitchell-highlights

- TOR: Takeaways From Win Over Rockets (from Kane Pitman, NBA.com):  https://ca.nba.com/news/raptors-make-defensive-statement-in-big-win-over-houston-rockets/mxglv9n6rbem1vrf1od9fvba0

- UTA: Takeaways From Win Over Pels (from Tony Jones, The Athletic): https://theathletic.com/2883808/2021/10/12/jazz-rounding-into-form-after-impressive-win-as-regular-season-looms


- NBA Final Roster Spot Analysis (from Keith Smith, Spotrac):  https://www.spotrac.com/research/nba/nba-final-roster-spot-analysis-1313/

- Predicting The Season's Best Defender At Each Position (from Zach Buckley, Bleacher Report):  https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2949259-predicting-the-nbas-best-defender-at-every-position-ahead-of-2021-22

- The Longest- And Shortest- Range NBA Shooters (from Ethan Fuller, Basketball News):  https://www.basketballnews.com/stories/stats-notebook-the-longestrange-and-shortestrange-nba-shooters

-2022 Draft Stock Watch (from Jonathan Givony/Mike Schmitz, ESPN):  https://www.espn.com/nba/insider/story/_/id/32375218/2022-nba-draft-top-100-stock-watch-moved-pro-days

- League Pass Rankings For 2021-22, 30-11 (from Zach Lowe, ESPN):  https://www.espn.com/nba/story/_/id/32383249/lowe-league-pass-rankings-breaking-nba-teams-30-11-fun-style-unintended-comedy


THREE YEARS AGO TODAY:  from the BI archives:

http://basketballintelligence.net/2018/10/12/todays-best-nba-reporting-analysis-101218/